Strategies for Academic Success

The fourth annual Rayos Awards took place at the Las Americas Conference Center at the headquarters of the Hispanic Federation in New York City. As in previous years, LATINO Magazine honored those who have given back to the community.

“The Rayos Awards is not for celebrities,” explained LATINO Publisher Alfredo Estrada as he welcomed invited guests. “Rather, we recognize often unsung individuals who have distinguished themselves in their respective fields of endeavor and should be presented to the Latino community as role models.”

During the luncheon, Yvette Martinez of AARP presented the first Rayos Award to Guillermo Chacon, president of the Latino Commission on AIDS. He is nationally recognized for his ability to build networks and mobilize communities on policy issues affecting the Latino community. In April 2013, he was appointed by Sec. of HHS Kathleen Sebelius to serve on the Advisory Committee on HIV, Viral Hepatitis and STD Prevention and Treatment for the CDC. A native of El Salvador, he studied at the National University of El Salvador and Fordham University.

The second award was presented by Rene Deida of the Prudential Foundation to Cid Wilson, a board member and past president of the Dominican American Roundtable, a national forum to advance the interests of Dominican Americans. He serves on the board of Latino Justice and was appointed by President Obama to serve on the National Museum of the American Latino Study Commission.

Milagros Uriarte of United presented the third award to Rafael Arboleda, the founder and CEO of Compulink, a multi-million dollar technology company. Compulink provides IT solutions to companies from end user computing to complex virtual deployments. An immigrant from Ecuador, he attended City College and worked as a career counselor before entering the IT field.

Finally, LATINO Magazine recognized the achievements of Shirley Rodriguez Remeneski, the founder and President  Emerita of 100 Hispanic Women, an organization founded in 1996 committed to empowering Latinas in various fields. Accepting the award on her behalf was Milagros Baez O’Toole, the current president. Muchas gracias to our sponsors AARP, Prudential and United as well as the Hispanic Federation and all who attended the event.

Yvette Martinez and
Guillermo Chacon

Milagros Uriarte

Rafael Arboleda

Milagros Baez O’Toole

and Alfredo Estrada

Cid Wilson and Rene Deida

Cid Wilson and Rene Deida